Unconnected

July 18, 2009

After having a mobile phone for the last fifteen or so years, being without one feels curiously liberating. I can leave the house and no one can reach me until I decide to return.

No last minute diversions.

Or requests.

No detours.

Everything is done according to my schedule.

I can stop when I want, come home when I want and answer to no one and I’d forgotten what that feels like.

My phone was a work mobile you see and, now that I have resigned and am leaving the country, I am without a mobile phone and will be so for the next eight weeks or so until I re-establish back in Australia.

No mobile apps to play with, no checking Facebook, LinkedIn, emails, texts.

Curiouser and curiouser.

Leave a Reply

